top of page

The Grandmother we’re all going to miss

We should take comfort that while we may have more still to endure, better days will return: we will be with our friends again; we will be with our families again; we will meet again.
Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II - on the outbreak of the pandemic.

On Thursday, on learning of the death of Her Majesty the Queen, I cried, I’m not 100% why, however, I was watching the news a little later and a young family, stood outside Buckingham Palace were being vox-popped by the BBC, the reported asked; “why have you come here today” and the chap said, “we wanted to pay our respects to her Majesty the Queen, everyone here, (pointing to the HUGE crowd), feels as though they’ve lost a beloved Grandmother!”, I nodded and smiled – that was it! She’s been a constant in everyone’s lives someone that has touched the hearts of millions of people! We’d seen her in good times and bad, we’ve seen that often mischievous smile and heard that infectious, warm laughter. Equally, who will ever forget the pitiful scene of her sitting alone in St Georges Chapel at the funeral of her treasured husband, her rock, Prince Philip.


As I say, I didn’t know the Queen however, I was once very honoured and proud to shake her hand.


On the 7th of July 2005 I had a day off and was chilling out over a cup off coffee when the phone rang, I looked at the number on my old Nokia and rolled my eyes as I recognised the number…… work! I wearily answered and an over excited colleague said – “Have you seen the news!!”, of course I hadn’t at that stage. My colleague informed me that several bombs had gone off across London and many people were dead and injured. I was instantly awake and in the moment. I was showered, dressed and out the door in fifteen minutes.


As public transport seemed to be the target, the tube was suspended and there were no busses running so, I drove in against a cacophony of sirens, alarms and bells. When I reached the hospital in which I worked I was met by a police cordon, I was stopped by an officer who after seeing my ID, ushered me into the car park.


I’m going to park this story here as it’s a preamble to the bit I want to talk about! The following day, a rumour was spreading that the Queen was going to be visiting to see the devastation for herself and to talk to the victims, subsequently, we didn’t think she was coming to Intensive Care!


A little later there was a flurry of activity around the central nursing station, one of the Queen’s team was on the unit informing us that the Queen would be with us in around half an hour. My boss at the time told me that I would be part of the welcoming committee as the Queen wanted to thank us for what we were doing to help the victims and their families. I was lined up, given a lecture in how to address Her Majesty, (Only offer your hand if she offers first and it’s Ma’am as in Jam!), I was shaking like a leaf.


I saw the diminutive figure of Her Majesty the Queen enter the unit, she was introduced to the Unit Manager who in turn brought her to see us. Standing in line I was thinking; curtsey and jam… no Ma’am, Ma’am ffs!!). When she reached me, I was introduced, she held out her white, gloved hand, I reached out mine, curtsied, bowed my head deferentially and whispered Ma’am, (phew!!).


She didn’t speak, she simply smiled at me and moved on but wow, what a smile, that’s the thing I will remember with great vividness. We’ve all seen those wonderful smiling eyes however, when it’s directed at you, it’s disarming, genuine, warm and instantly puts you at ease – it’s the smile of your grandmother.


So, there you go, she didn’t even speak to me, but it’s the best anecdote I can manage!


I remember feeling very proud and I dined out on the experience for weeks! The next time the Queen made me very proud was last year when it was announced that the NHS was to be collectively awarded the George Cross! The award, created in 1940, sits at the top of the UK honour’s system joint with the military Victoria Cross and is the highest civilian gallantry award. It is given for acts of the greatest heroism or of the most conspicuous courage in circumstances of extreme danger.


A personal message from The Queen in support of the Award, handwritten by Her Majesty, reads:


“It is with great pleasure, on behalf of a grateful nation, that I award the George Cross to the National Health Services of the United Kingdom.


“This award recognises all NHS staff, past and present, across all disciplines and all four nations.


“Over more than seven decades, and especially in recent times, you have supported the people of our country with courage, compassion and dedication, demonstrating the highest standards of public service.


“You have our enduring thanks and heartfelt appreciation.


ELIZABETH R.”


The Trust for whom I work distributed full-sized replicas of the medal to all members of staff, for the next few weeks at least, I will wear it with great pride in honour of a great woman, the likes of which we will never see again. Whilst it may sound odd to others outside the UK, especially in my beloved Ireland, I will miss her, I will miss her like the grandmother you can’t pick up the phone to anymore for a quick natter, I will miss her in that way you suddenly find your self tearing up at the memory of a lost loved one, the tears that turn into smiles as you remember the fondness, the love and the warmth.


In the words of King Charles the III, from the immortal Shakespeare; “May flights of angels sing thee to thy rest!”


Thank you Your Majesty and may you rest in peace!


Out of respect, no fashion this week just a few pictures that have made me smile over the last few days.



RECENT POST
JOIN MY MAILING LIST
bottom of page