top of page

Itchy Feet!

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbour. Catch the trade winds in you sail. Explore. Dream. Discover.

Mark Twain

I’m back from hols, Portugal was fabulous, weather perfect, food fantastic, people, as always in Portugal, warm, friendly and welcoming! I didn’t go to the Algarve, for a change I stayed in a beautiful little town not far from Lisbon called Cascais. Whilst we were there we visited Palácio Nacional de Sintra, an amazingly beautiful fairytale palace. Originally built by the Moors in the 11th century it’s somewhere I’ve wanted to visit for a long time and I wasn’t disappointed!

As you know, I have itchy feet, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE travel but this trip got me thinking, as the years roll by, (and I know I sound like an old fart!!), I’m realising there are places I want to see and actually, I should think about making a list, not just a list of places I want to see but a list which includes why I want to see them.

I suppose I’m very lucky, I’ve seen Sydney Harbour, I’ve been to Angkor Wat, I’ve had a Singapore Sling at Raffles and I’ve hiked up Machu Picchu – I’ve seen lots of natural wonders that make you go, WOW! So, my list is now more personal, I don’t necessarily want to go to the places everyone else has on their bucket list, I want to travel for me. Here’s what I’ve come up with so far;

I want to go to China, I’m not bothered about Shanghai or Hong Kong but I would love to see the psychedelic landscape of Zhangye Danxia Geopark in Gansu Province. I’ve seen lots of pictures and every time I see one it inspires me to do something artistic and creative. Locally known as the Chinese Rainbow, it’s as if Picasso or Van Gough had visited and accidentally dropped their palate over the mountain range.

I’d love to go to Turkmenistan and go into the Karakum Desert. In an isolated spot in the middle of the desert is what the locals refer to as the “Door to Hell”. More correctly called the Darvaza Crater, the formation of the crater is shrouded in mystery, some people say it just appeared overnight and started to burn, others tell tales of the Soviet’s looking for natural gas. The thing that fascinates me is that records suggest it was formed in 1971 and get this, it has been burning ever since – 47 years!!

Speaking of holes, I would love to leap into the Sua Ocean Trench in Samoa. When I read the wonderful Life of Pi by Yann Martel and I got to the bit where our hero is washed up on a strange, tropical island, this is the place my imagination took me to. To Sua Ocean Trench, which literally translates as 'big hole,' is located in Lotofaga village, on the south coast of Upolu island in Samoa. When the volcanoes erupted on the island, much of the ground fell away, and this 98-foot deep hole was the result. Steps lead down to a ladder, which tourists can use to descend into the grotto, I can picture myself jumping off into the crystal-clear waters below!

Again, I’ve been very lucky, I’ve been to Japan and it’s a magical, unique country however, I didn’t visit the Arashiyama Bamboo Grove in Kyoto is a 500-metre pathway through the Sagano Bamboo Forest. It is one of Japan's most picturesque natural environments and is known for the sound that is made when the wind blows through the thick bamboo grove. The music was even voted one of Japan's must-preserve sounds.

I want to go to Turkey to see the surreal landscape of Cappadocia. It’s is characterised by subterranean cities, cave houses, fairy chimneys and winding valleys, and is one of the most enchanting places on the planet. The otherworldly landscape is best enjoyed from the sky on a hot air balloon ride, where you can see the extraordinary rock formations, vineyards and villages of the historical region in Turkey.

I’ve never been to Iceland which is odd as it’s actually very accessible from the London airports. I’d like to see Reykjavik but even more I’d love to see the breath-taking Crystal Cave of Svmnafellsjvkull in Iceland's Skaftafell National Park. A glistening wonder with its brilliant indigo and aquamarine hues, and unique snap, crackle and pop sounds. Created by the Vatnajvkull ice cap in the south of Iceland, the cave is accessible through a 22ft entrance on the shoreline and is a tight squeeze towards the end where it is no more than four feet high, good job I’m only little!

Oh dear…… this is going to be a long list!

What’s on today?

Head, Eyes & TeethCatwa Head, Rigged Eyes and teeth - Catya v3.2

Hair[monso] My Hair - Yumi - @ this round of C88

SkinAmara Beauty - Antonia 04 Catwa Applier

Body, Hands & FeetMaitreya Mesh Body - Lara V4.0

PhysicsTemptation – 5.5 BONUS C+ D+ SuperTease - Physics

Shape [Elle et Lui] Tyler Shape - Catwa Bento Head Catya - Maitreya

Bracelets **RE** Aurora Bracelet - Maitreya

Jacket and Top[Cynful] Cropped Bomber Jacket - Lara @ this months Uber

Trousers L&B LARAfit Swear Simone Leather Pants v2 @ this months Uber

ShoesPure Poison - Mina Pumps - Maitreya

RECENT POST
JOIN MY MAILING LIST
bottom of page