top of page

From Podcaster to multi-million fund raiser to Damehood in just one week!

Cancer can take away all of my physical abilities. It cannot touch my mind, it cannot touch my heart, and it cannot touch my soul.
Jim Valvano

A couple of months ago, I wrote a piece called You Me and the Big C – Putting the Can in Cancer, an inspirational podcast maintained by the BBC. The idea behind the podcast was to put a greater focus on Cancer in a way people could talk openly about their everyday struggles, both Mentally and Physically. You Me and the Big C was the brain child of three utterly inspirational women, Deborah James, Lauren Mahon and Rachael Bland, sadly Rachael passed away but Debs and Lauren have kept the podcast going.


This week Deborah made a heart-breaking announcement an announcement that has touched the hearts of millions of people throughout the UK and actually, far, far beyond. I’ll give you the start of the message posted on Instagram to give you some idea of why this forty year old mum of two has had such an impact.


The message I never wanted to write. We have tried everything, but my body simply isn’t playing ball. My active care has stopped and I am now moved to hospice at home care, with my incredible family all around me and the focus is on making sure I’m not in pain and spending time with them. Nobody knows how long I’ve got left but I’m not able to walk, I’m sleeping most of the days, and most things I took for granted are pipe dreams. I know we have left no stone unturned. But even with all the innovative cancer drugs in the world or some magic new breakthrough, my body just can’t continue anymore.


In the message she went onto say that she wanted to set up a fund in her name, the proceeds of which would be donated to Cancer Research.The target on her Just Giving Page for the Bowelbabe fund was, what she thought was an ambitious £250,000.At time of writing, just five days after setting up the fund, the total donated so far is £5,868,630 and it doesn’t look like the donations are slowing just yet!


It’s been a remarkable week which has seen her become a peer of the realm, the queen announced, shortly after her tragic news was aired, she was to be made a Dame, I title awarded to her by His Royal Highness, The Duke of Cambridge, Prince William. Here’s how Debs reflected on the visit;


Prince William actually came to our family house today!! I am utterly honoured that he joined us for afternoon tea and champagne, where he not only spent a generous amount of time talking to my whole family but also honoured me with my Damehood. It’s quite surreal having a royal pop in at home, and yes you can imagine the cleaning antics and preparation went off the scale - but it was all irrelevant because William was so kind and he put us all at ease. He is clearly passionate about improving oncology outcomes as the President of the Royal Marsden. It was such a special day for my whole family, making memories to last a life time. He’s welcome back any time!


Writing on Instagram, Dame Deborah said; My family are being amazing and as emotional as it all is, we are finding so much to smile about in the sadness.


She explained she was getting weaker and more tired and had been running off pure adrenaline over the last few days.


But my word, I always said I wanted to slide in sideways when my time is up, with a massive smile, no regrets and a big glass of champagne! Still my intention!!!


Damehoods and knighthoods are usually announced as part of the New Year Honours or the Queen's Birthday Honours.


But, in exceptional circumstances, some are announced at other times of the year – as happened with NHS fundraiser Captain Sir Tom Moore's knighthood.


The visit by the Duke was arranged similarly quickly, as he had just returned from a two-day visit to the west of Scotland with his wife Catherine.


William and Catherine, who donated to Dame Deborah's research fund, said earlier this week that her tireless efforts in raising awareness of cancer were inspirational, and thanked her for giving hope to those living with the disease.


Dame Deborah, Lauren and Rachael have long been heroines of mine, their bravery is measureless, their compassion, limitless, their determination resolute, as I mentioned in my previous article, as a healthcare worker, their podcasts have made me a better person and a better professional. May Deborah have as much time as she can with her lovely family, we’re all thinking of you Debs!


What’s on this week?



Head & EyesLeLUTKA EvoX AVALON 3.0

Hair DOUX - Bellami Hairstyle [S]

Face SkinDeeTaleZ Skin *Amanda* for LELEVOX /nobrows/ Velour-CHANTI

BodyMaitreya Lara V5.3 - VELOUR: Ipanema Body for Maitreya - Fit (Chantily)

NailsAscendant - Spring Nails Fatpack - Maitreya

AO – BodyLanguage SLC BENTO AO Mate @ this round of Uber

Shape – DeeTaleZ Shape for Lelu EvoX AVALON / Skins "Alexa & Amanda" Cu - Tweaked!

Necklace & Earrings – Rise Design [ rD ] Tangier set @ this round of Fameshed

Wedding Ring ~~ Ysoral ~~ .:Luxe Wedding Ring Malie:. (Maitreya)

Rings(Yummy) Chunky Ring Collection [Lara] @ this round of Fameshed

TopKaithleen's Kelsey Silk Top - Mustard (Lara) @ this round of Collabro88

Shorts Kaithleen's Kelsey Denim Shorts - Light (Lara) @ this round of Collabro88

Shoes Eudora3D Briar Heels (Maitreya)


Poses and Bike by my beautiful freind Belle Blauvelt of Heart Poses!


Pictures Taken at the Always Helpful Backdrop City

RECENT POST
JOIN MY MAILING LIST
bottom of page