top of page

My New Favourite Shop!

Having someone do certain things for you is like getting someone to chew your food for you, it might be easier to swallow but it loses all its flavour, and you want the flavour!”

Ze Frank

It’s one of my bessies birthdays over the weekend, she’s been a special friend for a long time now, we’ve been many thick and thins together, she’s someone I know I can always rely on, she’s a total superstar! Subsequently, I wanted to buy her something nice and accompany it with a lovely card.

You know the phrase, “what do you get the girl that has everything?” Think Lisa’s bessie! I usually get her something from one of the quirky places around Covent Garden, this year was no different, I popped into Irregular Choice and got her a killer bag I know she’ll love – shhhhh, don’t tell her!

So, to the card…… I didn’t want to get her the usual Moonpig or something from Selfridges, I wanted something different. I looked and looked around Covent Garden and drew a complete blank! Bemused and a little sad I went home.

Later that day I was chatting with another of my bessies and was telling her of my dilemma; “have you tried Blade Rubber?” – the vacant and slightly confused look on my face was a bit of a clue as to the answer to that question! Never heard of it. The description of the place didn’t really inspire me, sounded a little too much like a do it yourself, artsy and craftsy kind on place, artsy and craftsy I am not! However, I was pretty desperate and the place is just near the British Museum so I got the tube up to Holborn.

Squashed between two similar looking shops I wasn’t feeling the love however, once I stepped in I was entranced! Take me back, *coughs* a few years and I was back at my grandmother’s house throwing glue and glitter everywhere! Blade Rubber Stamps is a shrine to wooden-handled rubber stamps with something for every occasion, eventuality and taste.

Neatly stacked shelves display arty stamps depicting chandeliers, cityscapes, images of Henry VIII, London buses, Alice in Wonderland characters, cutesy puppies and telephone boxes. But that’s not all, there are lots of adorable love-letter writing kits.

I’ve no doubt that come this time next month the place will be crammed full of stamps featuring Santa, angels and snowmen ready to be stamped on to personalised cards for Christmas – definitely count me in! For now, however there are unmounted sheets of rubber stamps, ink pads in every imaginable shade, glitters, glues, stencils, stickers, sticks of sealing wax, and a range of magazines and books complete the stock. And! If you don’t feel inspired they even have a made-to-order service for personalised stamps! I was in retro heaven.

So, armed with more raw materials you could shake a stick off, I jumped back on the tube, excited about what I was going to create! And create I did, not just a card for this weekend but all kinds of stuff including a couple of things I felt worthy of a frame, the things now adorning my landing and stairs. Loved it and can’t wait until next month to see what’s on the Christmas shelves!

What’s on this week?

Head, Eyes & TeethCatwa Head, Rigged Eyes and teeth - Catya v3.2

Hair[monso] My Hair - Yumi - @ this round of C88

Skin Amara Beauty - Antonia 04 Catwa Applier

Body, Hands & FeetMaitreya Mesh Body - Lara V4.0

Physics Temptation – 5.5 BONUS C+ D+ SuperTease - Physics

Shape[Elle et Lui] Tyler Shape - Catwa Bento Head Catya - Maitreya

Shorts & Top...Mutresse... Bella - Maitreya Lara @ this round of C88

Bracelets **RE** Aurora Bracelet - Maitreya @ this months FaMESHed!

Shoes Pure Poison - Victoria Pumps - Maitreya @ this round of C88

RECENT POST
JOIN MY MAILING LIST
bottom of page