top of page

Vanilla – The most interesting of flavours!

Let's talk about sex, baby

Let's talk about you and me

Let's talk about all the good things

And the bad things that may be

Let’s talk about sex

Salt-N-Pepa - 1991

I was chatting with a relatively new friend the other day, invariably in the psychedelic fantasy world second life is, where inhibitions seem looser and carry a lower threshold, the conversation drifted towards SLex.

“What floats your boat in the bedroom department”?

So, I talk about romance, intimacy, cuddles, long kisses………

“Ahhh…… I see, a vanilla girl. I'm more dark chocolate myself”.

So, here's the thing. I’ve always been vaguely irritated, even annoyed by the phrase “vanilla sex” and now I’ve begun to understand why. For those of you that have been living under a rock or haven't read or seen fifty shades, vanilla sex means “normal” sex. You know, participation in a little missionary work, sharpening the scissors, rolling in the hay, bouncing on the naughty trampoline. And so on.

More precisely though, it means “normal” sex when talked about by people who would really like to point out that what they do isn’t “normal” sex. That the basic act just doesn’t get them off as they are more sexually enlightened, more adventurous, more edgy. Hence the association with vanilla, supposedly the most boring of ice-cream flavours, although personally I find chocolate more uninspiring.

I believe everyone has the right do whatever floats their boat in the bedroom, as long as it’s done between one or more consenting adults. I have absolutely no issue and I'm certainly not judging. What pisses me off is the vaguely disguised snobbery, the insinuation that my sex is boring whereas your sex is dark and interesting. I absolutely loathe and abhor snobbery. I don’t like the recently created gin “experts” telling me how their botanicals from snow laden fields in the Urals are superior to the botanicals in my drink from Wales. Or literary book snobs who look down on an uplifting book by Jenny Colgan because it's sentimental slush, whilst reading every pretentious crime story with more twists and turns than road through the Alps! Or music snobs who look down their noses at what other people are enjoying, totally convinced they’re right and we’re wrong as their ears are more attuned to trends that will change the face of popular music. Arseholes!

Sex is sex. If some people get off sufficiently on “normal” sex, and there’s a huge number of us that do, that’s fine. However, if your senses have become so dulled, and your excitement pathways so obscure that you can only get off if somebody is dressed like a latex giraffe, then I think the problem is yours and not mine. (I'm not saying I'll never wear latex, right time right place and all that!) If you think I’m being too precious, think about this. Have you ever heard the phrase “vanilla sex” being used by a person who isn’t into kinky sex or, used in a way that isn’t sneery or condescending? I haven’t. People who use the phrase “vanilla sex” almost always do it with a slight edge of superiority. They may not say it overtly, but to them I am boring, and they are sexual Olympians!

Well, if you think I’m boring, I beg to differ, I think very differently. I consider my mind expansive and creative enough to enjoy the feelings and sensations derived from the act of making love without accessories and tools. You however, with your eclectic, superior brain require props and a lot of effort to feel just what I feel. Just because I can get off on the basic act of making love and you need props and mindplay, that doesn’t make you more “intricate” and “complex” than me. It just makes you different. So enough of “vanilla”. What I enjoy is sex. What you enjoy is sex with an added layer of mind-games, scenarios and props. So fuck away, just don’t look down on my methodology. Let’s all try to live in steamy, slippery, brackish harmony.

What I’m wearing this week;

Head & Teeth - .LeLutka. Head.Simone 3.0

Eyes - CATWA UN-RIGGED EYE V1.1 - (Custom eye texture)

Hair - TRUTH / Farryn - Light Blonds

Eyebrows - Glam Affair - Katya suggest eyebrows 01

Skin - LURE: Emily (Carnation)

Body, Hands & Feet - Maitreya Mesh Body - Lara V4.0

AO - [Body Language Sweet Lovely Cute] BENTO AO Kisetsu

Physics - 2.- Sutile -Subtle.~ Physics by Temptation

Shape - Custom Made

Tattoo - Nomadic Owl - Black [CAROL G]

Bindi - .:ellabella:. Kerli V2 dark-nose

Necklace - EF; Empyrean Forge : Sequoia Necklace - Long & Medium

Nails and Gloves - **RE** Real Evil: Deah Glove & Rings - Maitreya Bento

Body Suit - [The Forge] (I can't find an inworld store, if there is one please can you let me know?) Jess, Bodysuit, currently at Kustom9

Overalls - :KR: KastleRock, Bobby Jo Overalls - Black

Sneakers - REIGN.- JUNIPER SNEAKERS (MAITREYA-FLAT), currently at Kustom9

RECENT POST
JOIN MY MAILING LIST
bottom of page