top of page

Oh No! I’ve run out of exercise excuses!!!

"I really don't think I need buns of steel. I'd be happier with buns of cinnamon."

Ellen DeGeneres

I blow hot and cold when it comes to exercise. I find something I love like Body Combat or Zumba, tell everyone I’ve found ‘the one’, give it my commitment for a month or so and then get frustrated that a few sessions have not made me fitter and slimmer!

That’s when I start to get creative with my excuses for shirking exercise. The internal rationalisation goes something like this;

“I’ve just washed my hair and I don’t want to get all sweaty.”

“I won’t have time to exercise, shower, change and get to my next shift on time.”

“I can’t make that 7pm class, it’s my turn to cook dinner!”

“My sports bra/knickers/leggings/hoody are in the wash.”

“It’s too hot to go for a run.”

“It’s too cold to go for a run.”

“It’s too windy to go for a run.”

“I’ve big spot on the end of my nose and can’t possibly leave the house.”

“I’m on my feet all day at work and that counts as my exercise!”

Sometimes I use several of these excuses to justify one shirk. Honestly, If it wasn’t for the fact I have to go out to work, I think I’d be a happy hermit, dressing my pixel Barbie and decorating my virtual home!

However……… An ex-colleague and gym buddy who’s now living the dream in Australia and knows all about my shirking told me about a thing called Yogaia. Yogaia.com is the first interactive, real-time, online Yoga class provider.

I went through my list of excuses and found it difficult to make any of them stick. After all the classes are online, so I don’t have to leave the house. Plus, there is a selection of classes for every level of fitness and you can do them live, or watch the recordings – so the excuse of not being available at a certain time becomes invalid. I can’t deny that I have 15 or 30 minutes every day when I could be exercising – feck it, it got me!

On day one after begrudgingly accepting a free trial, I rooted out an old and dusty yoga mat lurking at the top of the wardrobe, put on my most sporty clothes and looked for a recording for beginners.

There’s an app for Yogaia, so I downloaded a recording onto my tablet, placed it on the stairs, laid my mat out in the hallway and took a deep breath, (possibly a reverse sigh!!) of Meditation Guru.

My first session was called Easy Yoga, a 30 minute practice for people who prefer something slow and basic. The focus was on proper alignments and longer holds in pose. The blurb said it was ideal for those just getting back into yoga after a longer break.

I am so out of practice that I did find even this beginner’s class quite a challenge, particularly the boat pose – Feck me that hurts!

I took my second recorded class in the evening after a short shift at work. The Relaxing Stretch class was for 30 minutes and was for improving balance and gentle relaxation. The teacher for this class is very bendy, which I found a little off-putting, although she did stress that we should only push ourselves as far as is comfortable, not very far in my case!

I downloaded the third class on a bit of a whim. I was on one of my days off and I’d finished all the housework, it was about an hour before I needed to do any cooking and thought I’d have time for a quick class. I did this in my underwear as I couldn’t be bothered to change – but that’s one of the benefits of doing this at home right? However, I would advise against this if you’re taking one of the live classes, or if you’re expecting a visit from the Amazon delivery guy!

I’m actually quite enjoying it at the moment, lets see how it goes, I’ll keep you posted!

What I'm wearing this week, (I went a little crazy at the Black Friday Sales...... I probably have enough material to last me into the New Year!!);

Head & Teeth - .LeLutka. Head.Simone 3.0

Eyes - CATWA UN-RIGGED EYE V1.1 - (Custom eye texture)

Hair - MINA Hair - Myla

Eyebrows - Glam Affair - Katya suggest eyebrows 01

Skin - LURE: Emily (Carnation)

Body, Hands & Feet - Maitreya Mesh Body - Lara V4.0

Nail Varnish - alaskametro<3 "Classic/Solid" Slink/Omega/Maitreya nail polish applier

Physics - 2.- Sutile -Subtle.~ Physics by Temptation

Shape - Custom Made

Tattoo - Nomadic Owl - Black [CAROL G]

Bindi - .:ellabella:. Kerli V2 dark-nose

Rings & Nails - **RE**, Real Evil Elektra Nails & Rings - Maitreya Bento

Earings & Necklace: Epyrean Forge, (EF) : Levity

Bracelets - **RE**, Real Evil Ikal Bracelet Female

Dress and Knickers - ~Nerido~ Emily Dress (Maitreya)-Nude Lace

Boots - N-core EILEEN "Choco" for Maitreya Lara

RECENT POST
JOIN MY MAILING LIST
bottom of page