top of page

Rita Does Abba!!

Truth comes out when we're blacking out

Looking for connection in a crowd of empty faces, empty faces

Your secrets are the only thing I'm craving now

The good, and the bad, and the end

'Cause I can take it, I can take it

Rita Ora - Anyway

I’d not really come across Rita Ora until RIP in 2012 however, from that point I’ve loved everything she’s done! I hadn’t realised until I was researching this article that she won the vote to become the UKs entry to the infamous Eurovision song contest in 2009 with the help of a cover of Oleta Adams’ classic power ballad, Get Here.

I loved her on the UK Voice, she was a real breath of fresh air, loved the way she used her feminine charms to steal the hearts of the male contestants, although despite her best efforts and one of the best pitches ever on The Voice she failed to secure Stevie McCrorie who went on to win the series!

Loved Your Song, loved I Will Never Let You Down and Ora, (the album) was repeated ad nauseum back and forth to work on the Tube.

Rita’s career has had more stops and starts than 188 from Greenwich to Canada Dock, I honestly believe it’s in part because the music critics can’t neatly box her off. For me she’s never been a Dance artist as some would describe her, sure, many of her tunes lend themselves to the dance floor but for me she is, maybe controversially, pure pop, and actually one of the best pop artists the UK has ever produced!

In that vein I think her latest hit, Anywhere, absolutely confirms that status. I’ve loved reading lots of reviews where people have tried to pigeon hole the song and have come to the conclusion that because it doesn’t really fit into one of their neat little genre boxes it must be bad!

COME ON GUYS, forget conformity review this on its merits! Your song, co-written by Ed Sheeran was to be the next spring board to stardom and stadiums, as I say, I loved it but I didn’t have that many agree with me. Anywhere is potentially going the same way however, I think the song is GENIUS!

“Anywhere” is the strongest pop song to grace the charts in the UK this year for many reasons but mainly because it’s a pure pop. It starts off a bit slow with just a wistful synth production and finger snaps before growing and thickening out for the chorus. She then drops the funky beat drop mid chorus that is so camp, it’s perfection. It’s euphoric, Abbaesque, fun and perfectly captures that hopeless lovestruck mindset. Lyrically the song explores falling in love and being willing to do anything to help it grow and flourish. “I know we’ve got to get away someplace where no one knows our name. We’ll find the start of something new, just take me anywhere”. From the first listen I was hooked but by a second and third listen I was genuinely in love. It’s the perfect commercial radio hit and she will inevitably more than live up to the hype “Your Song” created for her again.

This song identifies Rita Ora as the undisputed queen of pop and I love her for it! One request though Rita; please, please hurry up and release the new album! The five-year wait has been way, way too long.

What I’m wearing this week;

Eyes - CATWA UN-RIGGED EYE V1.1 - (Custom eye texture)

Hair - .Entwined. Rose [unrigged]

Eyebrows - Glam Affair - Katya suggest eyebrows 01

Skin - LURE: Emily (Carnation)

Body, Hands & Feet - Maitreya Mesh Body - Lara V4.0

Nail Varnish - alaskametro<3 "Classic/Solid" Slink/Omega/Maitreya nail polish applier

AO - VISTA ANIMATIONS *HUD 4.14*MIRIAM BENTO AO-V1B

Physics - 2.- Sutile -Subtle.~ Physics by Temptation

Shape - Custom Made

Tattoo - Nomadic Owl - Black [CAROL G]

Bindi - .:ellabella:. Kerli V2 dark-nose

Earings & Necklace: Epyrean Forge, (EF) : Homecoming

Over Sized Cardigan: ::GB:: (Gabriel), Long Cardigan beige /Maitreya - Curently at the November Kustom9

Top: JustBECAUSE ~ MindyTankTop ~ Orange ~ Lara

Boots/Trousers: Blueberry - Grace Pants - With Boots - Maitreya

And the song!

RECENT POST
JOIN MY MAILING LIST
bottom of page