top of page

Tosca, is that the new Italian on the high street??

I saw Tosca in the week at the Coliseum, it was wonderful, simply wonderful, I loved every second of it. Now I know many of you reading this will think of a million and one better ways to spend an evening and that’s fair enough however I found that the biggest barrier to enjoying opera is to get beyond the prejudice in your own head!

For years, I'd regarded opera as something my snooty older sisters did together, an elitist cultural dead end that had nothing of relevance to say to anyone. Then one day in October 1995 I got a phone call from my sister, my other sister was ill and she had a spare ticket to see Verdi's Otello at the Royal Opera House. I replied, "Thanks, but no thanks." She said I could have the stalls ticket for free. "How much is it normally?" I asked. "£25," she said. That's what swung it. Back then, £25 was a small fortune. At the very least I'd get my money's worth by sneering. However, what I hadn’t anticipated was that within 20 minutes of the opening notes I was utterly won over. Here was art at its most sublime, an overwhelming combination of music, drama and poetry. I was smitten!

Within those first 20 minutes I totally got that scene in Pretty Woman where Edward Takes Vivian to see La Traviata in San Francisco, (which incidentally is a brilliant piece of script writing in so much as La Traviata is an opera about a prostitute who falls in love with a wealthy man – sound familiar!?!!), anyway, there’s that famous scene with the old aristocratic woman at the end of the scene………

Aristocratic Lady: “Did you like the opera, dear?”

Vivian: “It was so good, I almost peed my pants!”

Edward: “She said she liked it better than Pirates of Penzance.”

Her facial expressions during that scene are perfect, the joy at the beginning through to the tears at the end, living the scene’s, the music and the acting, just brilliant!

So, for the person that says Opera is elitist and pretentious I say, just go and watch it, go in your jeans if you want, but do go!

Back to the fashion bit – As usual it took me three days to get into Uber, but it was worth the wait. anyone with a penchant for military influenced fashion should definitely get down to Uber this time around!

What I'm wearing;

Body, Eyes, Skin, etc. - See my Charlie Chaplin Naked post

Rings – [MANDALA] SINRA Rings Season 2

Necklace – **Real Evil (RE) Rebel Cross Necklace M2 - Female

Face Plugs – .:ellabella:. Kerli V2 lite-chin

Hair - +elua+ Hazel Red Uber October 2016

Dress - paper.arrow.co cami.dress navy [m.lara] Uber October 2016

Jacket - paper.arrow.co military jacket redcoat [m.lara] Uber October 2016

Boots - [VALE KOER] Tactical Flip Boots - Maitreya Uber October 2016

Pictures taken at Everwinter by the amazing Lauren Bentham

RECENT POST
JOIN MY MAILING LIST
bottom of page